Rising singer-songwriter Caitlyn Smith releases Supernova (Deluxe), available today on Monument Records. The deluxe version of her critically-acclaimed sophomore album features “I Can’t” reimagined as a duet with Nashville powerhouse group Old Dominion and produced by 3x GRAMMY Award-winner Shane McAnally, as well as Caitlyn’s stunning cover of Coldplay’s “Fix You.” Purchase or stream Supernova (Deluxe) here.

“I moved to Nashville 10 years ago, and both the city and I are completely different now,” shares Caitlyn. “The idea for ‘I Can’t’ came to me when I was driving by downtown to a session, and noticed more new skyscrapers going up and dozens of cranes changing the skyline and couldn’t help but feel like a stranger in my own town. There’s beauty in change, in watching a city progress, but sometimes personal change can feel impossible. It’s comforting to know you’re not alone, so the song has always felt like a duet to me, and adding Old Dominion to the track really makes it magic.”

Matthew Ramsey states, “We were fans of Caitlyn before we knew she was a fan of our music. We are so honored she asked us to be a part of this project. It was a great way for us to expand into a different style than we usually play. We can’t wait to show it off.”

Caitlyn introduced Supernova (Deluxe) last week with the official music video for title track “Supernova,” weaving together home video footage of herself and her two sons at about the same age as a poignant reminder to embrace the little moments because, as Caitlyn sings, “Time is like a shooting star/ A supernova in the dark/ You’d do anything to make it last / But it all goes by so fast.” Watch “Supernova”  here.

Caitlyn’s songs have been praised for their contrast of powerful vocals and vulnerable lyrics, and Sounds Like Nashville observes, “Press play on any one of Caitlyn Smith’s songs and you’re bound to be captivated by her striking voice that has a distinct way of pulling the listener in,” and The Boot proclaims, “Caitlyn Smith tackles the pain and beauty of life on new Supernova album.” The raw, introspective songs on Supernova, released on March 13, have resonated especially strongly with fans quarantined at home during the pandemic. Lead single “Long Time Coming,” about personal excavation and overcoming anxiety, has been declared “an anthem for hope and “the kind of song we could all use right now” by The FADER, and Esquire pronounced, “Good. Old. Classic. Sadness. Caitlyn Smith’s moody track is the kind of song that you listen to when you’re working your way out of that terrible place.” “Lonely Together,” written about missing home but being with her family on tour, took on a whole new meaning in light of everyone staying home in solidarity with each other. The track inspired Caitlyn’s Lonely Together Instagram conversation series, which has featured guests such as Karen Fairchild, Brandy Clark, Lori McKenna, Ingrid Andress, Cam, Tenille Townes, Lucie Silvas, Rita Wilson, Mary Steenburgen, and Bobby Bones, among many others, to connect and chat about the power of art during difficult times.

Supernova (Deluxe) Track Listing

  1. I Can’t (feat. Old Dominion)
  2. Long Time Coming
  3. Damn You For Breaking My Heart
  4. Put Me Back Together
  5. All Over Again
  6. I Don’t Want To Love You Anymore
  7. Supernova
  8. I Can’t
  9. Rare Bird
  10. Midnight in New York City
  11. Fly Away
  12. Feel That Way
  13. Lonely Together
  14. Fix You